Posted by: abodesignco | 02/27/2009

Conversational Piece

I often get solicited by other artists/designers via email & mail.  Most I haven’t found use for YET, but once in a while I am genuinely suprised and honoured to hear from truly talented people.  Just yesterday, I received a lovely greeting card from an artist on Gabriola Island, Elias Wakan.  I visited his website today and am thoroughly impressed by his meticulous work.  I’m particularly amazed by “Ruff Estimate”.

It is made of hemlock and resembles an Elizabethan collar piece and its winding curves is absolutely beautiful.  It is the result of a miscalculation and I cannot think of a better word to describe this piece other than serendipity.  It just shows you that art can come to you in many different ways. 

Thank you Elias for visiting my website and for the greeting card!

Leave a Reply

Categories

